Monday, January 28, 2013

The 2013 ALA's Youth Media Awards are Announced!

It is a BIG day in Children's Literature here in the United States.  Announced this morning in Seattle at the ALA's MidWinter Meeting, the awards for the top books, video and audiobooks for children and young adults include these winners...

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature:

The One and Only Ivan,” written by Katherine Applegate, is the 2013 Newbery Medal winner!  The book is published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

This Is Not My Hat,” illustrated and written by Jon Klassen, is the 2013 Caldecott Medal winner!  The book is published by Candlewick Press.

The Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:

Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America,” written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney is the King Author Book winner!  The book is published by Disney/Jump at the Sun Books, an imprint of Disney Book Group.

The Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award:

I, Too, Am America,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, is the King Illustrator Book winner!  The book is written by Langston Hughes and published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

In Darkness,” written by Nick Lake, is the 2013 Printz Award winner!  The book is published by Bloomsbury Books for Young Readers.

The Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:

Back to Front and Upside Down!” written and illustrated by Claire Alexander and published by Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co., wins the award for children ages 0 to 10!

A Dog Called Homeless” written by Sarah Lean and published by Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, is the winner of the middle-school (ages 11-13) award!

The teen (ages 13-18) award winner is “Somebody, Please Tell Me Who I Am,” written by Harry Mazer and Peter Lerangis and published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division!

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. 

The 2013 winner is Katherine Paterson!

Paterson was born in China in 1932 to missionary parents and grew up in the American South, moving eighteen times before she was 18. After graduating from King College in Bristol, Tennessee, she herself became a missionary in Japan. She returned to the U.S. to attend the Union Theological Seminary in New York, where she met and married John Paterson, a Presbyterian minister. Her first book, “The Sign of the Chrysanthemum,” was published in 1973. Katherine Paterson currently lives in Barre, Vermont.

The Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement:

Demetria Tucker is the 2013 recipient!  Tucker has served as youth services coordinator within the Roanoke (Va.) Public Library System and library media specialist at the Forest Park Elementary School, where she was selected 2007 Teacher of the Year. As family and youth services librarian for the Pearl Bailey Library, a branch of the Newport News (Va.) Public Library System, Tucker now coordinates a youth leadership program, a teen urban literature club and many other programs that support the youth of her community.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults:
Tamora Pierce is the 2013 Edwards Award winner!

Pierce was born in rural Western Pennsylvania in 1954. She knew from a young age she liked stories and writing, and in 1983, she published her first book, Song of the Lioness. She continues to write and even record her own audiobooks. She currently lives with her husband (spouse-creature) and a myriad of animals in Syracuse, New York.

The Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States:

The Fault in Our Stars,” produced by Brilliance Audio, is the 2013 Odyssey Award winner!  The book is written by John Green and narrated by Kate Rudd.

The Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience:

Martín de Porres: The Rose in the Desert,” illustrated by David Diaz, is the Belpré Illustrator Award winner!  The book was written by Gary D. Schmidt and published by Clarion Books, an imprint of Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company.

The Pura Belpré (Author) Award:

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe,” written by Benjamin Alire Sáenz, is the Belpré Author Award winner!  The book is published by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division.

Aristotle and Dante also won The Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience!

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children:

Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon,” written by Steve Sheinkin, is the Sibert Award winner!  The book is published by Flash Point, an imprint of Roaring Brook Press.

Bomb also won The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults!

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book:

Up, Tall and High!” written and illustrated by Ethan Long is the Seuss Award winner!  The book is published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons, a division of Penguin Young Readers Group.

And The William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens:

Seraphina,” written by Rachel Hartman, is the 2013 Morris Award winner!  The book is published by Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

To read more about all the awards and the honor books in each category, check out the ALA's official press release.  And for all of us in the world of Children's Literature, here's our newest reading list!

Congratulations to the winners and honorees!

Illustrate and Write On,

1 comment:

Kelley said...

This is very informative. Thanks for sharing! I just happened to read "This Is Not My Hat" last week, and I'm not at all surprised that it won a Caldecott.