Tuesday, January 24, 2017

The 2017 ALA Youth Media Awards Are Announced!

What a gift to us all - a reading list of some of the BEST books for young people published in 2016, and you can sort through it by the category you write and/or illustrate! Some highlights of the award-winners...

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature goes to:

 “The Girl Who Drank the Moon,” written by Kelly Barnhill.

The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book illustration for children winner is “Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat,” illustrated by Javaka Steptoe (written by Javaka Steptoe.)

The Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African-American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults winner is: “March: Book Three,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin (Illustrated by Nate Powell)

The Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award winner is: “Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat,” illustrated by Javaka Steptoe (written by Javaka Steptoe)

The Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award winner is “The Sun Is Also a Star” by Nicola Yoon.

The Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement goes to Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop. "Her influential writing, speaking, and teaching articulates the history and cultural significance of African-American children’s literature. Her globally cited work, “Mirrors, Windows and Sliding Glass Doors,” has inspired movements for increased diversity in books for young people, and provides the basis for the best multicultural practice and inquiry for students, teachers, writers and publishing houses."

Dr. Rudine Sims Bishop won the 2017 Coretta Scott King -Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults winner is: “March: Book Three,” created by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell.

The Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience winners are,

for young children (ages 0 to 10): “Six Dots: A Story of Young Louis Braille,” written by Jen Bryant, illustrated by Boris Kulikov''

for middle grades (ages 11-13):  “as brave as you,” written by Jason Reynolds

for teens (ages 13-18): “When We Collided,” written by Emery Lord

The Laura Ingalls Wilder Award is for an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The 2017 winner is Nikki Grimes, whose award-winning works include “Bronx Masquerade,” which won the Coretta Scott King Author Award in 2003, and “Words with Wings,” the recipient of a Coretta Scott King Author Honor in 2014. In addition, Grimes received the Virginia Hamilton Literary Award in 2016 and the NCTE (National Council of Teachers of English) Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children in 2006.

Nikki Grimes won the 2017 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award.

The Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime achievement in writing for young adults: The 2017 winner is Sarah Dessen. Her books include: “Dreamland,” “Keeping the Moon,” “Just Listen,” “The Truth about Forever,” “Along for the Ride,” “What Happened to Goodbye?” and “This Lullaby."

Sarah Dessen won the 2017 Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement

The Mildred L. Batchelder Award for an outstanding children’s book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States winner is: “Cry, Heart, But Never Break.” Originally published in Danish in 2001 as “Græd blot hjerte,” the book was written by Glenn Ringtved, illustrated by Charolotte Pardi, and translated by Robert Moulthrop.

The Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States winner is: “Anna and the Swallow Man,” written by Gavriel Savit and narrated by Allan Corduner.

The Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino writer and illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience winners are.

The Belpré Illustrator Award winner is “Lowriders to the Center of the Earth,” illustrated by Raúl Gonzalez (written by Cathy Camper.)

The Pura Belpré Author Award winner is "Juana & Lucas,” written by Juana Medina

The Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award for most distinguished informational book for children winner is: “March: Book Three,” written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell,

The Stonewall Book Award - Mike Morgan & Larry Romans Children’s & Young Adult Literature Award given annually to English-language children’s and young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience winners are:

 “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Hammer of Thor,” written by Rick Riordan,

and “If I Was Your Girl” written by Meredith Russo.

The Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished beginning reader book winner is: “We Are Growing: A Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie Like Reading! Book,” written by Laurie Keller.

The William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens winner is: “The Serpent King,” written by Jeff Zentner.

The YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults winner is: “March: Book Three,” created by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell.

You can see the full list of all the winners and honorees here.

Congrats to all!

Illustrate and Write On,

No comments: